God has made a promise to His bride

18/08/2016 20:50

I read in this Psalm that God has made a promise to his people, to deliver them from the plague and pestilence, and yet I find it has come. It may be that I have not made use of my faith in this promise heretofore; and if God allows, afflictions upon me, yet he will make it up some other way. God made a promise to deliver me, or at least to deliver me from all the evil of it; now if this thing does befall me and yet I have a promise of God, certainly the discomfort of it is managed by the power of the Holy Spirit. 

This promise tells me that if it does befall me yet it is for some notable end, and because God has a use for my life, and intends to bring about His glory some way that I do not know of. 

And if He will come in a fatherly way of chastisement, yet I will be satisfied in the thing. So a Christian heart, by reasoning out of the Word, comes to satisfy his soul in the midst of such a heavy hand of God, and in such a distressed condition as that. Now carnal hearts do not find that power in the Word, that healing virtue that is in it, to heal their distracting cares, and the troubles of their spirits; but when those who are godly come to hear the Word, they find in it, as it were, a plaster for all their wounds, and so they come to have ease and contentment in such conditions as are very grievous and miserable to others saying, “If you will diligently listen to the voice of the Lord your God, and do that which is right in his eyes, and give ear to his commandments and keep all his statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you that I put on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, your healer

 Bless the Lord, O my soul,

and forget not all His benefits, who forgives all your iniquity,

who heals all your diseases,who redeems your life from the pit,

who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good

so that your youth is renewed like the eagle's